FiDiPro Professor Jiri Matas joins the Vision Group

Professor Jiri Matas becomes a FiDiPro professor in the Vision Group from Jan 2016 to Dec 2019. He will mentor and supervise senior and junior researchers and collaborate with the local companies.

Tekes FiDiPro program provides funding to recruit top international researchers to Finnish research teams. These researchers, often distinguished professors in their fields, bring scientific expertise and research practices that boost the teams toward the top international level.

The Vision Group of Tampere University of Technology (Dept. of Signal Processing) received funding for a FiDiPro professor and his research team for four years starting January 2016. The project is a consortium project together with the Center for Machine Vision Research (CMV).

FiDiPro Professor Jiri Matas from the Center for Machine Perception, Czech Technical University, has published many pioneering and seminal works of computer vision, has been the program chair of the top international conferences (CVPR, ICCV and ECCV) and is the Associate Editor-in-Chief of the most prestigious journal of computer vision and machine learning (IEEE-PAMI). Moreover, his works have received numerous best paper awards.

Associate Professor Joni Kamarainen: "Professor Matas is a kind of researcher who can leave his permanent mark to any group he visits and who will certainly be remembered. He is creative, ambitious and extremely hard working and demanding, both to his students and colleagues. His impact to our field - measured in the number of citations - matches to the rest of us in the department, so I expect that he will help to lead our scientific topics and research practices toward those of the very best groups in the world. We are privileged!"

This Tekes funded FiDiPro will also benefit the local companies who are project partners:

  • Digile Oy
  • Fingersoft Oy
  • Haltian Oy
  • Intel Finland Oy
  • IntoPalo Oy
  • NOMO Technologies Oy
  • Visy Oy
For more information contact:
  • Joni Kämäräinen, Tampere university of Technology
  • Janne Heikkilä, University of Oulu
  • Jiri Matas, Czech Technical University

Back to news...